Confused about when to bill for a re-eval versus an initial eval? We explain it all right here.
The Massachusetts General election on Nov 6th is just around the corner and with Boston being our hometown, we are watching the discussion around ballot question #1 closely.
If passed, Question 1 would establish ratios limiting the number of patients that could be assigned at a time to individual nurses at Massachusetts hospitals and health clinics.
Q + A between SEED SPOT and Emily Goodstein, Online Fundraising Strategist
By Bianca Buliga, Digital Marketing Manager
SEED SPOT: We recently had the opportunity to sit down with Emily Goodstein, a fundraising strategist, author, and advocate. She took the time to talk with us about #GivingTuesday! We got to pick her brain on all things #GivingTuesday. We’re excited to share her thoughts, insights, and best practices!
SEED SPOT: Tell us about yourself! How did you gain your fundraising expertise?
Emily: I’m Emily Goodstein — a lifelong resident of the District of Columbia, digital marketer and online fundraising enthusiast. I’ve spent over 15 years working at or with nonprofits, helping purpose driven organizations tell their stories in effective ways to gain new supporters. Before starting my own digital marketing practice, I worked at Convio and Blackbaud where I had a front row seat while good for the world groups put together strategies and campaigns to raise as much money from their donors — using email, web and social media tactics to creatively engage supporters. As a consultant, I work with 12 organizations doing much of the same work.
SEED SPOT: What are common misperceptions about #GivingTuesday that you’d like to debunk?
EG: Oh, there are so many.
One of my favorites is that #GivingTuesday is only about giving money — but it is really about all kinds of giving. Many organizations break from fundraising asks on #GivingTuesday and ask for donations of time or items they need. Other organizations use the day to simply say thank you in the midst of a sometimes overwhelming end of year season.
Another myth about #GivingTuesday it is just one day — when in reality in could actually kick off an organization’s entire end of year fundraising cycle. And taking this one step further, prep for #GivingTuesday should really begin the day after last year’s GT ended — thanking your donors and thinking about what worked and what didn’t.
SEED SPOT: How can entrepreneurs leverage #GivingTuesday as a springboard into a lucrative year-round giving campaign?
EG: I love this question! The truth is, a good #GivingTuesday strategy is actually just a good year round fundraising strategy. So starting in January, folks may consider some list growth tactics that can take place all year long (so when GT hits, they have a whole bunch of eager fans waiting to hear from them). Consider a pop-up on your website to gather email addresses or running a contest where folks can enter by giving their email. And spend the year cultivating donors and building a relationship with them — showcasing how you and your cause add value to their lives or their communities. So, that way, when you get around to asking for money in November and December, folks know how important your organization is and don’t feel like the ask comes out of the blue.
The other great thing that should happen year round is reaching donors on many channels — not just by email. So once you get the email address of a supporter, consider re-targeting them on Facebook via the Custom Audience feature or sending a strategic direct mail piece. Or giving them a ring to thank them for their involvement without a fundraising ask (SEED SPOT note: this is a great way to engage your Board Members! Imagine getting a thank you call from an organization’s Board!). All this work will mean that your donation pitches are better received and donors already feel connected to your cause before they are asked to support it.
Lastly, remember to spend non-peak fundraising months testing what works well. You can always do an A/B test of email subject lines or use the Facebook promotion feature to test messages or imagery with a small budget. This way, when November and December roll around, you will know what will resonate with your audience to gain the highest donation response rate possible.
SEED SPOT: What are some common mistakes entrepreneurs make in nurturing donor relationships and how can these be avoided?
EG: The biggest mistakes I see time and time again are organizations thinking #GivingTuesday is a super saturated time and they don’t plan to participate because the field is so crowded. The kicker here is that we see the number of dollars raised growing year over year (over $300 million was raised online in 2017, up 78% from 2016) so if organizations choose not to participate in #GivingTuesday, they’re actually leaving money on the table. For organizations who aren’t in need of fundraising dollars (or, like some of my clients, organizations who had other reasons to fundraise only a month or so before #GivingTuesday hits), it may be a time to ask for non monetary gifts — but it is a time when your community is expecting to hear from you — even if your message is purely one of thanks.
The other common mistake, which can be easily avoided, is entrepreneurs only communicating with supporters in a sometimes stuffy newsletter format. Don’t wait until you have seven or eight things to list in a newsletter — it is okay to send more emails with only one ask per message as opposed to packaging everything up into a periodic update. Additionally, feeling forced to produce content just because it is “time to send out the next newsletter” is a really easy mistake to make. But cut yourself some slack and email your list when you have something to tell them, not because the calendar says it is time to send an update.
SEED SPOT: Any additional resources entrepreneurs can look into for more help?
The team at the Nonprofit Technology Network has some amazing resources too: https://www.nten.org/
SEED SPOT: A huge thank you to Emily for helping us give power to our #GivingTuesday strategy! We at SEED SPOT are excited to take her advice to amplify our own #GivingTuesday campaign. Learn how you can donate to SEED SPOT here.
Want to hear from other Content Experts eager to help you improve your business? Consider attending a SEED SPOT 2-Day Launch Camp – one may be coming to a community near you!
Need some advice on making an ask to a donor? Learn some tips from a SEED SPOT Team member here!
The post How to Spin Your #GivingTuesday Campaign into a Full-Year Culture of Giving appeared first on SEED SPOT.
For many, it seems that finding your perfect partner can be a real challenge. You know you want partners, you’ve heard how great they can be and how much they can help your business grow. But so far they have remained elusive, mythical business creatures. Hunting for your ideal business partner should not be as impossible as the quest for Sasquatch.
First thing’s first, before you start your partner search ask yourself, do you know where to find partners or how to lure them in? Knowing these things are key to making sure you’re following the right track to finding your perfect partner. If the partners you do recruit aren’t the ideal fit, they are likely to churn. On top of that, if you’re chasing the wrong type of partner, your efforts can be costly in both the long and short term. In fact, partners churn about 10% of their vendors per year. If you’re just starting out your hunt for your perfect partner there’s a handful of things to consider.
Hunting for your ideal business partner should not be as impossible as the quest for Sasquatch.
1. How to Identify Your Ideal Partner.
When looking for your perfect partner, ask yourself:
- Which type of partnerships are you looking to add to your business?
- What responsibilities will your partner have?
- How much time and money are you willing to invest in your partner program?
- Your ideal partner may be the right fit for you—are you the right fit for them?
- How will you define success for your partners?
- How will your partner define their own success with you?
Ask yourself these questions before jumping into a partnership to make sure you are setting yourself and your partners up for success. After all, the goal of any partnership is to have two equally invested parties who are both benefiting from the success of the relationship.
2. Developing Your Ideal Partner Persona
After you’ve determined your hunting strategy, which partner type you would like to implement, and your partner responsibilities, it’s time to build your Ideal Partner Persona (IPP). Assigning a name, title, industry, and business size to this profile will help you adjust your messaging to fit that specific person. Everyone wants to be communicated with like a valued person and tweaking your messaging to match the language and values of that persona will help bridge the relationship gap and relate with their goals.
When creating this partner persona, you want to make sure your IPP is someone who isn’t so different from you that your cultures and products/service offerings do not align, but different enough to have a diverse audience—giving you the chance to address prospects that are normally outside of your reach. Remember, the partnership has to be a good fit for both of you, otherwise, your partnership could end with a messy breakup. If that partnership doesn’t work out, don’t think the perfect partner is nothing more than an urban legend—get back to hunting!
3. Determining the best way to lure in your perfect partner.
You’ve spotted your perfect partner, it’s time to lure them in. The goal of any partnership program is to be exclusive enough to drive interest, but open enough to avoid disqualifying solid partner candidates.
In addition to referral commission, helping your partners feel well educated and prepared to have conversations with your customers is a huge incentive. The easier it is for partners to sell your product, the more the partner will be willing to sell for you. With partner education in mind, it may be a good idea for you to offer free quarterly training, an invitation to an annual partner conference, reserved time with the engineering team to request new features or integrations, and/or a subscription to your platform for a length of time. Making the education a known factor from the beginning will help partners to feel supported.
4. How to Get on the Right Track for Long-Term Partnerships.
Like any employee, partnership relationships work well if you set achievable, task-based goals. Think about this, if there are free goodies on the line, in addition to your standard agreement, your partner will work hard to earn those goodies. Not to mention, if you elevate your partner’s status based on their achievements, they will feel valued and recognized. How many times have you referred six friends to try yoga, spin, karate, etc. just so you could get a free month of classes? I have. Those rewards are highly motivating. As a bonus for the vendor, referred customers are more likely to adopt, quicker. It’s a win for the partner and a win for the vendor.
5. Eyes on The Prize—Now What?
After demonstrating to your partner all you have to offer, it’s their turn to offer benefits to you. Any relationship, including partnerships, is a two-way street so it’s important to make sure that your partner is as invested as you are in the relationship.
Finding your perfect partner isn’t impossible and doesn’t have to be as elusive as the search for Sasquatch. Determine what partner type is best for your business, what characteristics make those partners ideal, where to find those partners, how to intrigue those partners, and what will give the partner enough incentive to join your journey. If you can answer all of those questions, the next step is to start hunting. Get ‘em, tiger!
The post Urban Legends Debunked: Perfect Business Partners Do Exist. appeared first on Partner Relationship Management Software (PRM).
Whether you work in-house or have clients, marketing ROI is a critical component of making sure your marketing efforts are working — and proving to key stakeholders that you’re adding value.
In this post, we’ll review the data you need to pay special attention to when measuring ROI, as well as how to calculate ROI based on your campaign goals.
Prep work for calculating marketing campaign ROI
Crunching numbers and calculating ROI is the easy part. Most of the work goes into choosing the right ROI calculation for your business or campaign and then pulling the necessary data to plug into the equation.
Determine your revenue and marketing spend: Need I say more? For campaigns where sales are the goal, you’ll need to know your post-campaign revenue and total marketing spend. If you’re optimizing for leads or other non-monetary conversions, see below.
Calculate the value of future customers: For some campaigns, success is measured in conversions that will turn into revenue later — think lead form submissions, newsletter subscriptions, etc. But it’s still important to ascribe a dollar value to each conversion because, while these calculations aren’t exact, they at least enable you to get a general idea of how much money your hard-won conversions will bring in.
The two most common ways to calculate this are average purchase value (APV) and customer lifetime value (CLV). If your customers tend to only buy once, or very sporadically, you can stick to APV. But if your customers tend to buy multiple times or pay via subscriptions, CLV may be a superior metric to use.
Determine sales cycle length: Another variable worth considering is how long it will take the marketing campaign to show results. If your product or service has a high price point, your sales cycle is likely considerably longer than, for example, an e-commerce clothing company. Alternatively, you may find that the sales cycle for leads you gain at tradeshows is usually much faster than those generated through digital channels (or vice versa).
In either case, take a look at your historical data to determine your sales cycle length before running ROI calculations. That way, you can be sure you’re giving your campaigns enough time to generate revenue before you measure them.
How to find the right ROI calculation for your needs
At face value, calculating ROI is simple: Just subtract marketing spend from revenue to determine your ROI figure, and then divide again by marketing spend for your ROI percentage. But depending on the specifics of the campaign, it’s important to make small tweaks to this formula for the sake of accuracy (and to prove you’re doing your job!).
1) Your campaign is optimized for one-off sales
In this situation, you can stick to the simple equation for ROI percentage:
ROI = (Revenue – Marketing Spend) / Marketing Spend
Example: You run a Facebook ad campaign promoting your new jewelry line. You earn $5000 in revenue and spent $2000 on the campaign. Your ROI is then (5,000 – 2,000) / 2,000, or 150 percent.
2) Your campaign is optimized for non-monetary conversions that will turn into recurring sales
Similarly to the situation above, you want to assess how much money you stand to make based on customer lifetime value, instead of just one-off revenue. First, find your customer acquisition cost:
Customer Acquisition Cost = Revenue / New Customers
Then, plug in numbers to this modified ROI equation:
ROI = (Customer Lifetime Value – Customer Acquisition Cost) / Customer Acquisition Cost
Example: You run a beauty products subscription service and conducted a direct mail campaign to get new subscribers. You spent $5,000 on the campaign materials, and earned 50 new subscribers as a result, making your customer acquisition cost (5,000/50), or $100. Your customer lifetime value is $200, so your ROI stands to be 100 percent.
3) Your campaign is optimized for non-monetary conversions that will turn into one-off sales
Here, you can still use the original ROI equation, but you need to determine both your estimated ROI per lead and your sales conversion rate. First, find your customer acquisition cost:
Customer Acquisition Cost = Revenue / Total leads
Then, find your ROI per lead:
ROI per lead = Average Purchase Value – Customer Acquisition cost
Next, determine your forecasted revenue based on your lead to customer conversion rate:
Forecasted revenue = (Total leads * Sales Conversion Rate) * ROI per lead
Now, plug these numbers back into the normal ROI formula:
ROI = (Forecasted Revenue – Marketing Spend) / Marketing Spend
Example: You sell MRI equipment to hospitals and purchase a booth and sponsorship at a large trade show where your goal is to generate leads. You spent $100,000 on the sponsorship and earned 200 leads, giving you a customer acquisition cost of $500. If your average purchase value is $250,000, you could expect an ROI per lead of (250,000-500), or $249,500. If your lead to customer conversion rate is 5 percent, then you can expect 10 of those 200 leads to become paying customers, earning you $249,925*10, or $2,495,000 in forecasted revenue. Since you spent $100,000, that leaves you with an ROI of .025 percent.
But what about attribution for multichannel campaigns?
As a marketer, you know that in general, no campaign or marketing tactic makes money by itself. When calculating ROI for a marketing campaign, it’s important to decide in advance how (or if) you will factor in other touchpoints, and how much credit you’d like to give to them.
For example, if you’re running a single-channel direct mail campaign targeted at people who are unfamiliar with your brand, you can feel pretty confident giving 100 percent attribution to that channel — especially if you use proper tracking methods. However, if you’re running a promotional campaign that spans direct mail, email, and Facebook ads, you’ll need to decide if you want to calculate ROI by overall campaign spend, and/or break it down by channel.
To a large degree, this decision will depend on your resources. A holistic look at marketing spend in a multichannel campaign would definitely be easiest, but you’ll lose out out on important information regarding which channels performed best within the campaign. Breaking down the campaign by channel offers better insight, but requires more effort and resources.
What’s a marketer to do? At a minimum, calculate your ROI based on overall marketing spend. Doing so at least allows you to answer the question your stakeholders want answered most: Did this campaign generate revenue? From there, you can select an attribution model that can help you determine which channels contributed most to your ROI.
For more tips on attribution for multichannel campaigns, check out this post on how to dissect a marketing touchpoint.
Calculating ROI on marketing campaigns doesn’t have to be difficult. With a little prep work, you can choose and equation that works best for your campaign goals and business model.
Want to know your ROI from phone call conversions? Learn more about how CallRail makes it happen.
Halloween is just around the corner! Time for spooky costumes, silly jokes, and sweet sweet candy.
According to the The American College of Emergency Physicians “Emergency departments do typically see an uptick in visits on Halloween. Some of the most common injuries are motor vehicle accidents, falls or hand lacerations from pumpkin carving mishaps.” 
Whether you’re going out trick-or-treating with family & friends, or working a shift at the ED or Urgent Care, here are some helpful tips provided by the CDC on how to keep the festivities a SAFE HALLOWEEN. 
Swords, knives, and other costume accessories should be short, soft, and flexible.
It’s par for the course when a product or service touts their amazing features and ease-of-use in their marketing website copy, their promotional materials, and their press releases. But in recent years, user reviews and testimonials have become just as important to customers as marketing collateral when it comes time to make a purchasing decision.
The same is true for call tracking software, which is why we pour a great deal of effort into speaking with real CallRail customers, and writing up their testimonials into case studies.
By speaking with the real people who use our service, we’re doing more than just conducting research around UX preferences or market sentiment. With our case studies, we get to learn exactly how our software is making an impact on the bottom line — both for our users and their clients.
Here, we’ll review some of our favorite agency ROI case studies, and explore how they used CallRail to deliver amazing ROI results for their clients. (Each case study will be linked at the top of its summary, so feel free to click through for a more in-depth read.)
The folks at SalesX, a Bay-area agency, are some of the best of the best when it comes to digital marketing. As an early evangelist of Google Ads (they even hired one of its creators to sit on their board), they’ve developed an impressive track record when it comes to using digital marketing best practices to boost a client’s business.
However, SalesX found that some of their clients were a little more old-school, and don’t rely exclusively on digital channels to drive revenue. For these clients, calls are a mission-critical channel.
“For us, [call tracking] was a critical part of our mission, because we want to be able to accurately track all sources of contact for our clients,” said SalesX Founder and CEO Joe Khoei. “And we found that for most of our clients, they were tracking form fills and web sessions and everything else, but not calls.”
In the case of one client, the top-to-bottom application of call tracking helped deliver some seriously eye-popping results: A Cost Per Lead reduction of more than 90 percent, coupled with a 35 percent boost to their conversion rate!
With results like that, SalesX’s clients can be confident that they’re earning amazing ROI — both on the money they’re spending on ads, and on what they’re spending to be a SalesX client.
This New York City-based digital marketing agency knew they were delivering seriously impressive ROI for their clients, but they had difficulty proving that new business was directly tied to the campaigns they were running.
By implementing CallRail for one of their clients, they were almost immediately able to prove that their relatively modest ad spend of around US $1,000 was bringing in tens of thousands of dollars in revenue for their client — anywhere between 500 to 800 percent ROI on their ad spend in a given month.
“I could immediately see that all the sales for these products were happening over the phone and I would never have been able to measure this through web conversions,” explained NYC SEM Marketing Director Darren Carter.
Dentistry — like other medical businesses — is a specialized fields where calls are still crucial. Prospective patients rightfully want to speak to a real human before they commit to putting their health and welfare in your hands, so phone calls are sa primary channel when it comes to earning new leads and drumming up business.
Most dental offices take a piecemeal approach to marketing, hiring one firm for digital ad buys, another for web design, another for direct mailers, and so on. Wonderist, a San Diego-based dental marketing agency, understood that they could deliver both real value and cost savings to clients by centralizing all of these operations under a single roof, with call tracking as one of the central pillars of their marketing efforts.
And their results speak for themselves: By putting CallRail to work for one Pittsburgh-based client, they saw a 530 percent increase in monthly appointments year-over-year, along with a comparable increase in revenue — without requiring a huge increase to their marketing budget.
“Most importantly for us as an agency, the data from CallRail meant we didn’t have to sit on our hands and say, ‘Gee, I sure hope we were part of helping him drive all those new patients,’” explained Wonderist co-founder Michael Anderson. “We can bring that call tracking data to our client and demonstrate the direct role our advertising had in their success.”
Client retention is one of the thorniest problems any digital marketing agency will face. At the Bellevue, Washington-based marketing agency FreeGren, they knew they needed a different approach to differentiate their business from the crowd.
And so, they adopted a forward-thinking strategy: Instead of focusing exclusively on big payouts from enterprise-grade clients, they would instead prioritize relationships with small-to-medium sized clients, especially those in markets with a high average transaction value.
In one memorable case, they knew that they were delivering great results for the client, but an absence of comprehensive analytics meant that the client wasn’t totally sold on the value of FreeGren’s services. But after a top-to-bottom implementation of CallRail into the client’s marketing stack, FreeGren was able to conclusively show how their campaigns for the client had directly resulted in a 40 percent increase in leads and conversions. (All in the space of only three months!)
And by delivering such excellent results, and providing total data transparency along the way, FreeGren is also boosting their own bottom line — they almost never lose a client to churn.
You read that correctly: By implementing call tracking for a customer who previously had not been tracking any calls, this Phoenix-based legal marketing agency helped a client more than double their monthly business.
By using CallRail’s Keyword Tracking feature, IVIO was able to zero in on the Google Ads keywords that were driving the most calls and new business to a client. That, in turn, helped them focus their ad spend on the best messaging and most lucrative targeted audiences.
As a result, one of IVIO’s clients saw their number of monthly appointments more than double (going from 12 to 25), along with a corresponding increase in monthly revenue — all without having to spend a single extra penny on ad buys.
While there may not be a magic bullet, one-size-fits-all solution for proving and improving agency ROI, these examples illustrate how the judicious use of call tracking and analytics can make a serious difference, both for your agency and your clients.
The post 5 agency success stories that prove the ROI benefits of call tracking appeared first on CallRail.